Imperiia: a spatial history of the Russian Empire

(Semi-)Autonomous regions

Most areas of the Russian Empire - even those with distinctly non-Russian populations - were part of the "regular" administrative organization of the empire. There were three exceptions:

The Grand Duchy of Finland
acquired in 1809

The Kingdom of Poland
(reconstituted from the lands acquired by Russia via the partitioning of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth under Catherine II). 

The Emirate of Bukhara

Nota bene: While geographical dictionaries, topographical surveys, and maps often include these regions in their representations of the empire, the majority of government statistics (on demography, the economy, etc.) do not.

This page has paths:

Contents of this path:

This page references: