The Imperiia Project: a spatial history of the Russian Empire

Military-Topographical Description of the Russian Empire

Beginning in 1848, the General Staff of the Russian Army began publishing a series of "military-topographical descriptions" (военно-топографические обозрения) of each province of the empire. They organized the material into seventeen volumes:
  1. The Grand Duchy of Finland
  2. Northeastern provinces
  3. Northwestern provinces
  4. Upper Volga
  5. Lower Volga
  6. Great Russian provinces
  7. Lithuanian provinces
  8. Belorussian provinces
  9. Western provinces
  10. Southwestern provinces
  11. New Russia, Bessarabia, Don Cossack Host
  12. Little Russia (Malorossia)
  13. Black Earth provinces
  14. Orenburg district
  15. Kingdom of Poland
  16. Caucasus (only parts 1, 5, 6, and 10 were published)
  17. Western Siberia
  18. Eastern Siberia (this volume was not published)